Sainsbury's Book Club logo

Sainsbury's Book Club

Every month, the Sainsbury's Book Club team read and recommend their favourite fiction, cookery and children's eBooks, curating a selection of free samples, book trailers, author biographies and reading group discussion points to help you get the most out of your next eBook read.

We'd love you to contribute to the Book Club too, so if you like what you read, recommend it to others by reviewing the books on the list and the best five reviews each month will win a £10 eBook voucher. Sound good? Read on...

  • Collect 50 bonus Nectar points on our lead Book Club title

    "The master of British underworld crime fiction"

    Revenge

    Revenge

    by Martina Cole

    Elisabetta says:

    If you have a liking for gritty, fast-paced East End gangster stories that shed light on the dark underbelly of the criminal world, then this rollercoaster read is for you. Revenge is a hard-boiled, dysfunctional family drama with a plot that keeps you guessing right up to the end.

    Martina Cole writes in a no holds barred style, which both shocks and thrills. She builds up the tension carefully, leaving the reader breathless. I found the storyline riveting, and the whodunnit element a real guessing game. Martina Cole has surpassed herself yet again, proving herself without any doubt the master of British underworld crime fiction.

  • "Had me hooked from the first chapter until the end"

    Things we never say

    Things we never say

    by Sheila O'flanagan

    Ufuoma says:

    This is my first Sheila O’Flanagan novel, and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The story takes place in two locations, Dublin and San Francisco, and is seen from different perspectives but mainly seen through the eyes of the central character Abbey. When she discovers all she knows about her family roots to be a lie, she has to travel to Dublin to uncover the truth. The unique storyline had me hooked from the first chapter until the end with some great twists that you would never expect. This is definitely one book you should take along with you on your next holiday.

  • "Perfect for fans of John Green"

    The Year of the Rat

    The Year of the Rat

    by Clare Furniss

    Sharon says:

    ‘Perfect for fans of John Green’ – with that recommendation I had to give this debut a go. It is absolutely beautiful. Painfully sad at times – how can it not be when you’re listening to a teenager suffering from the loss of her mum, and in her eyes at the expense of an unwanted baby sister – ‘The Rat’? It’s also very funny featuring an unforgettable cast of characters. My favourite book of the year so far…

  • "A page-turner of the highest order"

    King and Maxwell

    King and Maxwell

    by David Baldacci

    Sharon says:

    I’d always assumed that David Baldacci was for boys rather than girls so up until now I’ve steered clear. This is the sixth title in the King & Maxwell series – Sean King and MichelleMaxwell are former secret service agents turned private investigators and in this book the duo stumble into a perilous journey involving the CIA, DoD and FBI - but don’t let that put you off – it’s a page-turner of the highest order, my commute to work simply wasn’t long enough and the pace of the writing leaves you breathless. I’ve also decided that I want to be Michelle Maxwell. David Baldacci – not just for boys!

  • "Hard to tear yourself away and do important things like eat and sleep"

    Never go back

    Never go back

    by Lee Child

    Richard says:

    I've read all the Jack Reacher books but this one ranks up there with the very best in the series, like Killing Floor and The Visitor. It starts with a bang, as Reacher returns to his old army base in Virginia to finally meet the woman whose voice he liked the sound of on the phone three novels ago. When he arrives, he is arrested, and things don't let up from there. This time Reacher teams up with the tough, likeable Major Susan Turner to bring down a powerful conspiracy.  As ever, Lee Child keeps the narrative moving at a rapid pace, making it genuinely hard to tear yourself away from the book and do important things like eat and sleep. This is tense, action-packed stuff where the good guys take on the bad, and I loved it.

  • "An immensely enjoyable and compelling book"

    Ocean at the End of the Lane

    Ocean at the End of the Lane

    by Neil Gaiman

    Martin says:

    The Ocean at the End of the Lane is a novel I read in a single sitting. The adult narrator returns to his childhood home and remembers a disastrous birthday party, the death of a kitten, and the suicide of a lodger, drawing us towards the secrets that lurk along the lane. Lettie Hempstock, the girl who lives in the house at the end of the lane with her mother and grandmother, leads the narrator into Gaiman's world of immeasurably old powers, peril, and obligations.

    This is a book about fear. The fear of supernatural forces and ancient evil, of a small boy trapped in a lonely childhood, and the trauma of discovering that his parents aren't all powerful and unconditionally kind. That fear, and the gradual way in which secrets and memories are revealed, makes this an immensely enjoyable and compelling book.

  • "I can't see a time that my kitchen will be without this cook book"

    A Girl Called Jack

    A Girl Called Jack

    by Jack Monroe

    Mark says:

    This is a great cookbook, packed with recipes that are very straightforward and simple to cook. It is also one of very few cookbooks I have read through and felt I could cook a number of recipes from the cupboard without a trip to the supermarket.

    I have cooked several recipes from A Girl Called Jack so far, including 'Sicilian Style Sardines With Pasta and Green Beans' (p 152), 'Onion Pasta With Parsley and Red Wine' (p 87) and the eBooks by Sainsbury’s office favourite 'White Chocolate Tea Bread' (p 39). Despite the store cupboard ingredients the dishes were nutritious and delicious. And not only is the book full of great recipes, it also contains some sensible tips for helping you reduce the cost of your weekly shop.

    I can't see a time that my kitchen will be without this cookbook. It already sits beside old favourites that I cannot do without.

Discover the best of Book Club